Murphy unveils picks for innovation commission

Daniel J. Munoz//December 24, 2018//

Murphy unveils picks for innovation commission

Daniel J. Munoz//December 24, 2018//

Listen to this article

Gov. Phil Murphy unveiled eight picks for the 17-member Commission on Science, Innovation and Technology—an advisory board reinstated in July to kick-start the state’s innovation economy in the sectors of life science and technology.

Friday’s picks were among dozens Murphy announced for different boards, commissions and councils.

Beth Noveck, the state’s first chief innovation officer, will serve on the council. Murphy announced her position in August, tasking her with looking at new policies to promote the state’s innovation and tech sectors, as well as fostering collaboration between the state, higher education and the tech economy.

Another proposed member, Robert Barchi, has served as the president of Rutgers University since 2012.
Murphy also picked Debra Hart, president and CEO of BioNJ, a life sciences association aiming to boost the state’s biotechnology industry. Another preference, Joel Bloom currently serves as president of the New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Gunjan Doshi, another choice, is currently CEO of InRhythm, a product design and engineer consulting firm.

Charlene Brown-Smith of Franklin Township was also picked to serve on the commission. David Pascrell, a co-chair of regulatory and government affairs at Gibbons PC was also named a potential choice to sit on the commission.

Nariman Farvardin, president of Stevens Institute of Technology, was also named as a likely candidate to sit on the commission.

The senate president and assembly speaker will each appoint two members, as well as two non-voting members from the public.

The secretary of higher education, executive director of the Economic Development Authority and commissioner of education will serve as ex-officio members on the commission.