NJBIZ unveils 2022 Healthcare Heroes (updated)

NJBIZ STAFF//July 6, 2022//

NJBIZ unveils 2022 Healthcare Heroes (updated)

NJBIZ STAFF//July 6, 2022//

Listen to this article

How can we ever really thank real-life heroes? For one, we can shine a spotlight on them as an NJBIZ Healthcare Hero, and that’s exactly what this awards program aims to do. 

The HealthCare Heroes program was created to recognize excellence, promote innovation and honor the efforts of individuals and organizations making a significant impact on the quality of health care in New Jersey.   

Based off your submissions, and chosen by a panel of independent judges, the program recognizes individuals and organizations across 12 categories. 

On Aug. 10, we will gather to celebrate these Healthcare Heroes at The Palace at Somerset Park. Check out the Healthcare Heroes events page to find out how you can join us. 

Congratulations to the 2022 NJBIZ Healthcare Heroes:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Donald Parker, president, Behavioral Health Care Transformation Services
Hackensack Meridian Health

Education – Individual

Ali Houshmand, president
Rowan University 

Kathleen Kaminsky, chief nursing officer and senior vice president, Patient Care Services
Englewood Health 

Jeffrey Rhode, multimedia specialist
Holy Name 

Shirley Richardson
Virtua Health 

Education – Organization

Hackensack Meridian Health 

Hands On CPR Training 

Jazz for Prostate Cancer Awareness 

Thomas Edison State University 

Trinitas School of Nursing 

Health Care Professional

Gertrude Cannon, certified nursing assistant
Actors Fund Home 

Frank Ghinassi, senior vice president of Behavioral Health and Addictions Service Line, RWJBarnabas Health;
president and chief executive officer,
Rutgers Health University Behavioral Health Care 

Dr. Nizar Kifaieh, president and CEO
Hudson Regional Hospital 

Roy Leitstein, president and CEO
Legacy Treatment Services  

Maureen Shaughnessy, general superior
Sisters of Charity of Saint Elizabeth 

Dr. Eleonora Teplinsky, head, Breast Medical Oncology, Valley Health System;
clinical assistant professor of medicine,
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, Valley Health System 

Teri Wurmser, dean and vice president of nursing research grants and academic affairs
Georgian Court University and Hackensack Meridian Health 

Innovation – Individual

Kaitlan Baston, medical director of addiction medicine and government relations
Cooper University Health Care 

Dr. Amit Borah
Atlanticare Regional Medical Center 

Bob Gold, chief behavioral technologist
GoMo Health 

Harumi Jyonouchi, pediatrics faculty, clinical professor of pediatrics (Rutgers-RWJ)
Saint Peter’s University Hospital 

Saranne Rothberg, CEO/founder
The ComedyCures Foundation 

Dr. David Sousa
Morristown Medical Center 

Innovation – Organization

Babs Siperstein PROUD Center at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Somerset 

Bergen New Bridge Medical Center 

Hackensack Meridian Health 

Recovery Centers of America at Raritan Bay’s RESCU program

Nurse of the Year

Linda Carroll, vice president, Patient Care Services; chief nursing officer
Saint Peters University Hospital 

Theresa Chun, IT manager
Englewood Health 

Melissa Evans, nurse practitioner, senior manager
Clover Health

Nicole Hradil, nurse manager, ICU and Neuro ICU
Overlook Medical Center 

Patricia Molinelli, nurse practitioner, palliative medicine
Atlantic Health System’s Chilton Medical Center

Paula Moran-Lally, clinical coordinator, Emergency Department
Holy Name 

Physician of the Year

Dr. Luke Eyerman, medical director, Transitional Care, Hospital at Home, Primary Care Development, Home Care, Telemedicine
Holy Name  

Dr. Nisha Kotecha, chief of critical care
Overlook Medical Center 

Dr. Sean McMillan, chief of orthopedics
Virtua Health, Willingboro and Camden campuses 

Dr. Gonzalo Olivares Maldonado
Clover Health 

Dr. Silvio Podda, chief of the division of plastic surgery
St. Joseph’s Health 

Dr. Kamtorn Vangvanichyakorn, director of neonatology
Cooperman Barnabas Medical Center 

Dr. Gian Varbaro, chief medical officer
Bergen New Bridge Medical Center 

Public Health

Robert Budsock, president and chief executive officer
Integrity House 

Nicole Harris-Hollingsworth, vice president, Social Determinants of Health
Hackensack Meridian Health 

Robin Izzo, assistant vice president, Environmental Health and Safety
Princeton University 

Mariam Merced, director of community health promotions
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital, New Brunswick 

Dr. Tushar Patel
Indian Health Camp of New Jersey 

Dr. Kerri Powell, president and CEO
Neighborhood Health Services Corp.

Ritesh Shah, pharmacist/founder
Ritesh Shah Charitable Pharmacy – NJ’s 1st Charitable Pharmacy 

Volunteer of the Year

John Kalinowski
Jersey City Medical Center

Pedro Martins
Atlantic Health System  

Catherine Newman
Holy Name  

Paula Riportella
Hackensack Meridian Health 

Workplace Wellness

County of Monmouth 

Penn Medicine Princeton Health 

St. Joseph’s Health Center for Innovation 

Editor’s note: This story now has updated entries for Dr. Eleonora Teplinsky, Patricia Molinelli, Recovery Centers of America at Raritan Bay’s RESCU program and John Kalinowski. We have also updated the story to include our Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, who was announced after the initial honorees were revealed.