Introducing the 2023 NJBIZ ICON honorees (updated)

NJBIZ STAFF//June 23, 2023//





Introducing the 2023 NJBIZ ICON honorees (updated)

NJBIZ STAFF//June 23, 2023//

Listen to this article

Now in its seventh year, the NJBIZ ICON Awards recognize leaders over the age of 60 from New Jersey industries such as accounting, architecture, real estate, law, government, hospitality and more. These individuals are honored for their work throughout their careers — not just in their respective fields, but in the state’s larger business community as well. 

Join us to celebrate this year’s honorees from 8 to 10 a.m. Aug. 8 at The DoubleTree by Hilton in Somerset. Ticket information can be found on the event page. Honorees will also be profiled in a future publication inserted in NJBIZ. 

Congratulations to the 2023 NJBIZ ICONS! 

Derek Armstead, mayor
City of Linden 

Randall Berman, chief operating officer
Continental Food and Beverage Inc. 

Marc Betesh, founder and executive chairman
KBA Lease Services, Visual Lease 

Lance Blake, president and owner
Rotwein+Blake Associated Architects 

James Blazar, executive vice president and chief strategy officer
Hackensack Meridian Health 

Anthony Calandra, CEO
Calandra Enterprises

Teri Capparelli, executive director
Habitat for Humanity of Bergen County 

Drew Cowley, founder and co-owner
Cowleys Pest Services 

Dennis Doll, chairman, president and CEO
Middlesex Water Co. 

Bonnie Evans, advisory board member
NJ Sharing Network

Wilfredo Fernandez, partner and co-leader, Automotive Practice
Citrin Cooperman Advisors LLC / Citrin Cooperman & Co. LLP 

Andy Fingerhut, partner

Frank Greek, founder
Greek Development 

Stephen Greenberg, president
Flaster Greenberg PC 

Howard Guttman, principal
Guttman Development Strategies 

John Harmon Sr., founder, president and CEO
African American Chamber of Commerce of New Jersey 

Catherine Hart, deputy executive director
Housing Authority of the City of Elizabeth (HACE) 

Taj Haslani, founder

Brian Jones, president and CEO
First National Bank of Elmer 

Allen Kopelson, founding principal
NK Architects 

Jaynee LaVecchia, partner
McCarter & English LLP 

Brian Lenker, executive committee member and chair of Corporate Transactions & Financial Services Practice
Brach Eichler 

Tony Mahon, executive vice president, sales leadership
Marsh & McLennan Agency LLC 

Schone Malliet, CEO and president

Rick Marchisio, president and principal
Lee & Associates New Jersey 

Gualberto (Gil) Medina, executive vice president

Edward Mendlowitz, emeritus partner

Jeff Milanaik, partner, Northeast region
Bridge Industrial 

Donald Mindiak, president and CEO
First Commerce Bank 

Nicholas Minoia, founding and managing partner
Diversified Properties 

Heidi Minuskin, partner
Schenck Price Smith & King LLP 

Terrie O’Connor, broker, president and founder
Terrie O’Connor Realtors 

Harry Ted Osborne, executive vice president
PS&S Architects and Engineers PC 

Jeanne Perantoni, CEO and principal
SSP Architects 

Steven Pozycki, CEO and chairman
SJP Properties 

Dr. Gary Rogal, chief of cardiology, medical director
RWJBarnabas Health 

Michael Saffer, co-chair, Commercial and Corporate Litigation Law Group
Mandelbaum Barrett PC 

James Sanduski, president
Sharp Home Electronics Co. of America, a division of Sharp Electronics Corp.

Vera Sansone, president and CEO
CPC Integrated Health 

Elizabeth Sher, partner and general counsel
Day Pitney LLP 

Kevin Slavin, president and CEO
St. Joseph’s Health 

Carol Stillwell, president

Peter Torcicollo, managing director
Gibbons PC 

Deborah Visconi, president and CEO
Bergen New Bridge Medical Center 

Diane Wasser, partner-in-charge of New Jersey and managing partner of regions

Ralph Zucker, CEO and founder
Inspired by Somerset Development 

Editor’s note: This story was updated June 26, 2023, to clarify James Sanduski’s position at Sharp and on June 29, 2023, to include Bonnie Evans’ current role. On June 30, 2023, the story was updated to reflect the complete list of honorees.