Introducing the 2023 NJBIZ Leaders in Finance honorees (updated)

NJBIZ STAFF//March 20, 2023//

Introducing the 2023 NJBIZ Leaders in Finance honorees (updated)

NJBIZ STAFF//March 20, 2023//

Listen to this article

NJBIZ is unveiling the honorees of the 2023 Leaders in Finance awards, which celebrate New Jersey’s financial executives at all levels who contribute to the success of their companies as well as their communities. A ceremony recognizing the individuals will take place from 8-10 a.m. April 25 at the Doubletree by Hilton Somerset Hotel and Conference Center at 200 Atrium Drive. Tickets are now available on the event page.

Following an open nomination period, honorees were chosen by a panel of independent judges with experience in the financial field. The selections were based on the nominees’ involvement in their industries and communities, along with their achievements, energy and innovative ideas. The award categories are banking, corporate, investment and professional.

Congratulations to the 2023 Leaders in Finance honorees!

Lifetime Achievement Honoree

Alan Sobel, managing principal of the New Jersey offices for CLA (CliftonLarsonAllen LLP)


Robert “Toby” Babeuf, senior vice president and commercial banking leader, Wells Fargo

Michael Borodinsky, vice president branch manager, Caliber Home Loans

Gregory Carlisle, Southern and Coastal New Jersey market president, TD Bank

Jim Earnest, Mid-Atlantic market executive, City National Bank

Gary Farnesi, senior vice president, commercial banking-team lead, WSFS Bank

Dennis Gibney, executive vice president and chief financial officer, Columbia Bank

Efthemia “Effie” Gikas, senior vice president, consumer banking region executive, Bank of America

Robert Koar, senior managing director, Webster Bank

Elizabeth Magennis, president, ConnectOne Bank

Ellen Marshall, executive vice president head of middle market banking NJ/NY, Santander Bank

Brian McEvily, managing director, JP Morgan Chase

Martin Melilli, market president, TD Bank

Thomas Splaine, executive vice president and chief financial officer, Lakeland Bank


Kathleen Dedrick, chief financial officer, Integrity House

Brent Donnelly, chief financial officer, Marsh McLennan Agency

Logan Fisher, principal and co-chief financial officer, Bressler, Amery & Ross PC

Lee Galtman, senior vice president – Finance, Vydia Inc.

John Garton, chief financial and operating officer, Habitat for Humanity of South Central New Jersey Inc.

William Klutkowski, senior vice president of finance and chief financial officer, Valley Health System

Michael Levy, vice president of internal audit, Student Transportation of America

Tom Lyons, senior executive vice president, chief financial officer, Provident Bank

Kathleen Powers, chief financial officer, Chelsea Senior Living

Adam Raiken, chief financial officer, MetLife Stadium

Tracy Shust Sr., director-national controller, Sharp Business Systems, Sharp Electronics Corp.

Kevin Stagg, executive vice president and chief financial officer, Christian Health

Karen VanDerhoof, executive vice president for business and finance, County College of Morris


Joseph Biondolillo, founder and president, BiondFinancial

Lauren Conigliaro, portfolio manager, financial planning specialist and financial advisor, Morgan Stanley

Peter Donchez, managing director, global investment specialist, J.P. Morgan

Jim Ferrare, managing principal, Withum Wealth Management

Brian Foley, partner, Procida Funding

Jennifer Guthrie, executive director, J.P. Morgan Private Bank

Matt Holleran, managing partner, Northwestern Mutual

David Johnston, managing partner, Amwell Ridge Wealth Management

Kim Luthy, director of wealth planning, Synthesis Wealth Planning

Rachel Vergari, CEO and firm principal, GoodStreet Financial LLC


Steven Botwinick, CPA managing partner, Botwinick & Co. LLC

Andrew Coombs, CEO and managing partner, Coombs CPA PC

Paula Ferreira, office managing partner, Mazars USA LLP

Paul Fried, CEO-elect, Smolin, Lupin & Co. LLC

Cliff Green, CEO, Green Payments

Matthew Jessup, partner, McManimon, Scotland & Baumann LLC

Joseph Lucosky, managing partner, Lucosky Brookman LLP

Marina Margarucci, principal, Marcum LLP

Yahaira Mendez, partner, PKF O’Connor Davies LLP

Karen Miller, director, EisnerAmper

Parag Nevatia, CEO and founder, EZ Funding Solutions

Dave Roth, managing partner and CEO, RRBB

Sherry Tracey, senior managing director, Phoenix Advisors LLC

Editor’s note: This story was updated at 3:29 p.m. ET March 24, 2023, to include Tom Lyons full title. At 11:08 a.m. ET March 27, 2023, the story was updated to include the just-announced recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award. Additionally, the list was updated at 12:54 p.m. ET March 29, 2023, to reflect the complete list of honorees.